President’s Message
& Board of Directors


2017-2018 President

Amy Stewart-Brown

Since 1927, the Junior League of South Bend (JLSB) has been committed to promoting voluntarism, developing the potential of women, and improving communities through the effective action and leadership of trained volunteers. Its purpose is exclusively educational and charitable.

The Junior League is one of the oldest, largest, and most effective women’s volunteer organizations in the world. Our local League is a relevant and innovative organization comprised of nearly 400 women with an impressive range of skills, professional experiences and leadership goals. We are united by our interest in “Building A Better Community.” The Junior League of South Bend provides members with training and education to maximize their contributions to our community efforts with the hope that those skills and connections will also extend into their careers and other charitable endeavors.

For 2017-2018, the Junior League of South Bend is partnering with the United Way of St. Joseph County to bring a brand-new, evidence-based initiative to our community. The Born Learning Academies will engage parents, children, educators, and volunteers in meaningful interactions that seek to empower parents on their journey of being their children’s first teachers. Our members will coordinate, organize, lead, teach, model, learn, inspire and be inspired as we work alongside the UWSJC team to implement this program from the ground up. It is through projects and initiatives such as this that the Junior League of South Bend has become a thought leader and preferred partner in the area of early childhood development in the South Bend community.

Thank you for your interest in the Junior League of South Bend! Please explore our website to learn more about how you can become a member, become a community partner or sponsor, and support our mission. When you support JLSB you are supporting the education and training of civic leaders that are transforming our community.

In Voluntarism,

Amy Stewart-Brown, MPA
President 2016-2018


Karey Circosta

Becky Beckman

Courtney Bennett

Megan New

Janet Horvath

Stephanie Moreland

Cari Peugeot


Junior League of South Bend Past Presidents

Community Advisory Board